[PATCH] Make -Wuse-after-free=3 the default one in -Wall

Alejandro Colomar alx.manpages@gmail.com
Fri Feb 17 21:20:45 GMT 2023


Link: <https://inbox.sourceware.org/gcc/3098fd18-9dbf-b4e9-bae5-62ec6fea74cd@opteya.com/T/>
Link: <https://github.com/shadow-maint/shadow/pull/649#discussion_r1108350066>
Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: David Malcolm <dmalcolm@redhat.com>
Cc: Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
Cc: Iker Pedrosa <ipedrosa@redhat.com>
Cc: Jens Gustedt <jens.gustedt@inria.fr>
Cc: Jonathan Wakely <jwakely.gcc@gmail.com>
Cc: Mark Wielaard <mark@klomp.org>
Cc: Martin Uecker <uecker@tugraz.at>
Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Eggert <eggert@cs.ucla.edu>
Cc: Sam James <sam@gentoo.org>
Cc: Siddhesh Poyarekar <siddhesh@gotplt.org>
Cc: Yann Droneaud <ydroneaud@opteya.com>
Signed-off-by: Alejandro Colomar <alx@kernel.org>
---

Hi Siddhesh,

Here's a patch for it.  It is untested yet.  Please have a look at it.
I'm not used to GCC customs, so corrections are welcome :)

Cheers,

Alex


 gcc/c-family/c.opt  | 4 ++--
 gcc/doc/invoke.texi | 2 +-
 2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/gcc/c-family/c.opt b/gcc/c-family/c.opt
index c0fea56a8f5..1a3fc2c5d74 100644
--- a/gcc/c-family/c.opt
+++ b/gcc/c-family/c.opt
@@ -1411,11 +1411,11 @@ C ObjC C++ ObjC++ Joined RejectNegative UInteger Var(warn_unused_const_variable)
 Warn when a const variable is unused.
 
 ; Defining this option here in addition to common.opt is necessary
-; in order for the default -Wall setting of -Wuse-after-free=2 to take
+; in order for the default -Wall setting of -Wuse-after-free=3 to take
 ; effect.
 
 Wuse-after-free=
-LangEnabledBy(C ObjC C++ LTO ObjC++, Wall,2,0)
+LangEnabledBy(C ObjC C++ LTO ObjC++, Wall,3,0)
 ; in common.opt
 
 Wvariadic-macros
diff --git a/gcc/doc/invoke.texi b/gcc/doc/invoke.texi
index 7b308cd3c31..d910052ce0c 100644
--- a/gcc/doc/invoke.texi
+++ b/gcc/doc/invoke.texi
@@ -4720,7 +4720,7 @@ instead of pointers.  This approach obviates needing to adjust the stored
 pointers after reallocation.
 @end table
 
-@option{-Wuse-after-free=2} is included in @option{-Wall}.
+@option{-Wuse-after-free=3} is included in @option{-Wall}.
 
 @item -Wuseless-cast @r{(C++ and Objective-C++ only)}
 @opindex Wuseless-cast
-- 
2.39.1



More information about the Gcc mailing list