Remaining host configuration fragments

Joseph S. Myers jsm28@cam.ac.uk
Thu Jan 17 14:31:00 GMT 2002


On Thu, 17 Jan 2002, Stan Shebs wrote:

> (and to any automated tools that browse source files), and leaves
> everything exactly in place, so that the future would-be reviver
> can recover the config from the last release before final deletion,
> simply by reverting the edits.

People can recover the files from the last pre-deletion revisions in CVS -
and should do so, rather than using a release, given that global changes
(obsoleting a target macro, etc.) are applied across all relevant targets,
obsolete or otherwise, so a version in a release will not be a final
version.  Given CVS, doing edits to the files before deleting them seems
pointless - as those edits make the target non-buildable in that release,
why not simply document that the target is obsolete and that certain files
should be retrieved from CVS to attempt to build it (along with a URL for
the patch that removed the target, to give information about any other
associated changes that might need reverting)?

-- 
Joseph S. Myers
jsm28@cam.ac.uk



More information about the Gcc mailing list