Bug 29488

Summary: Cannot Make GCC 4.1.1
Product: gcc Reporter: jrweave
Component: otherAssignee: Not yet assigned to anyone <unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED INVALID    
Severity: normal CC: ctalley, gcc-bugs
Priority: P3    
Version: 4.1.1   
Target Milestone: ---   
Host: Target:
Build: Known to work:
Known to fail: Last reconfirmed:

Description jrweave 2006-10-16 23:33:07 UTC
I have tried to Make gcc 4.1.1 on an Intel Woodcrest system (Intel Xeon processors) and also on a Fabric7 Q80 server (AMD Opteron processors).  I couldn't complete the Make without getting an error from the use of ld.

The Woodcrest error looks like:

/usr/bin/ld: crti.o: No such file: No such file or directory
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [32/libgcc_s.so] Error 1
make[2]: *** [stmp-multilib] Error 2
make[1]: *** [all-gcc] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

The Q80 error looks like:

/usr/bin/ld: Please report this bug.

collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[4]: *** [libstdc++.la] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/jrweave/gcc-4.1.1/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/libstdc++-v3/src'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/jrweave/gcc-4.1.1/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/libstdc++-v3'
make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/jrweave/gcc-4.1.1/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/libstdc++-v3'
make[1]: *** [all-target-libstdc++-v3] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/jrweave/gcc-4.1.1'
make: *** [all] Error 2
Comment 1 Andrew Pinski 2006-10-16 23:36:37 UTC
/usr/bin/ld: crti.o: No such file: No such file or directory
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [32/libgcc_s.so] Error 1
make[2]: *** [stmp-multilib] Error 2
make[1]: *** [all-gcc] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

That means you don't have the 32bit runtime installed, use --disable-multilib in that case.

/usr/bin/ld: Please report this bug.

collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[4]: *** [libstdc++.la] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory

That is most likely a bug in the ld you are using, can you give the full out of the error?
Comment 2 Chris Talley 2006-10-17 15:48:03 UTC
I have recently had a similar problem building gcc-4.1.1 and gcc-4.1-20061013 on an Ubuntu-64bit 6.06 installation with an AMD Sempron64 socket 754 processor. I also have trouble build the current gcc-4.2 series.  I need to build a multilib version to support 32bit gfortran, however I get a similar "[32/libgcc_s.so]  Error 1". I may be wrong, but it appears that my Ubuntu-64 distro has the 32bit libraries located in /lib32 while the 64bit libraries are in /lib with a softlink /lib64 pointing to them also. If this is not a gcc bug, any help in building a multilib on my system would be appreciated.
(In reply to comment #1)
> /usr/bin/ld: crti.o: No such file: No such file or directory
> collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
> make[3]: *** [32/libgcc_s.so] Error 1
> make[2]: *** [stmp-multilib] Error 2
> make[1]: *** [all-gcc] Error 2
> make: *** [all] Error 2
> 
> That means you don't have the 32bit runtime installed, use --disable-multilib
> in that case.
> 
> /usr/bin/ld: Please report this bug.
> 
> collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
> make[4]: *** [libstdc++.la] Error 1
> make[4]: Leaving directory
> 
> That is most likely a bug in the ld you are using, can you give the full out of
> the error?
> 

Comment 3 Andrew Pinski 2006-10-17 15:50:21 UTC
(In reply to comment #2)
> I have recently had a similar problem building gcc-4.1.1 and gcc-4.1-20061013
> on an Ubuntu-64bit 6.06 installation with an AMD Sempron64 socket 754
> processor. I also have trouble build the current gcc-4.2 series.  I need to
> build a multilib version to support 32bit gfortran, however I get a similar
> "[32/libgcc_s.so]  Error 1". I may be wrong, but it appears that my Ubuntu-64
> distro has the 32bit libraries located in /lib32 while the 64bit libraries are
> in /lib with a softlink /lib64 pointing to them also. If this is not a gcc bug,
> any help in building a multilib on my system would be appreciated.

Ubuntu is not following the standard when it comes to x86_64 distros so Ubuntu is borken.
Comment 4 Andrew Pinski 2007-01-28 23:33:01 UTC
Ubuntu uses a broken library layout so closing as invalid.