This is the mail archive of the
gcc@gcc.gnu.org
mailing list for the GCC project.
Re: [gnu@gnu.org: [Fwd - Frm: sergei@servermail.cepro.cefetpr.br, Subj: failure notice!]]
- To: kenner at vlsi1 dot ultra dot nyu dot edu (Richard Kenner)
- Subject: Re: [gnu@gnu.org: [Fwd - Frm: sergei@servermail.cepro.cefetpr.br, Subj: failure notice!]]
- From: dvv at egcs dot dvv dot org (Dima Volodin)
- Date: Fri, 02 Jun 2000 14:29:58 GMT
- Cc: mrs at windriver dot com, gcc at gcc dot gnu dot org, rms at gnu dot org
- Organization: Huh?
- References: <10006021303.AA01280@vlsi1.ultra.nyu.edu>
On Fri, 2 Jun 00 09:03:19 EDT, you wrote:
> A good ISP will _never_ be on any of the antispam lists. You just
> didn't research your ISP selection well enough before signing. I'd
> recommend a new ISP.
>
>Incorrect.
>
>I know of one ISP in the northest (mostly in MA) which had requests by its
>customers to block "security scans" of their machines, which were causing
>problems with their mailers. As any good ISP should do on receiving such a
>request (the owner of a machine has an absolute right to say how the machine
>should be used), they installed such blocks. However that action got them
>added to one of the "spammers" lists, despite the fact that the ISP in
>question had never contributed to spam in any way and was very diligent in
>cancelling the accounts of spammers that used their service.
>
>It would be nic if being on these lists actually meant that somebody was
>contributing to spam, but in fact all it means is that the site in question
>is not taking specific actions that the "control freaks" want to see done.
That's exactly the situation with RoadRunner (I'm a RoadRunner customer
here in VA) and ORBS.
Dima